Five Secrets That iOS App Developers Won’t Tell Us

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive
 

Today, I’m going to talk about FIVE secrets that iOS app developers don’t want us to know.

Hi iPhone users,

In this modern world, we rely on our phones to do many things. Some people use 10~20 apps per day, and that’s a lot. We have apps for navigation, communication, online ordering, entertainment, etc. Today, I’m going to talk about FIVE secrets that iOS app developers don’t want us to know.

1. Double In-App Ratings

User ratings play a crucial role in the search rankings when we’re looking for an app in the app store. We’ve all had the experience of being asked to rate the app after we’ve finished using it, or maybe we just voluntarily click on a “Rate Us” button. Developers are naturally curious to know what kinds of ratings their apps’ users are giving, but developers have no control over what ratings are being posted on app store pages. So to prevent users from writing negative reviews of their apps, developers have come up with some tricks.

 

five_secrets

 

When we are prompted to rate an app, the dialog asking us to do that is developed by the app developer. If we select one or two rating stars from the dialog, we are very likely going to leave a negative review on the app store. In such a case, the app will probably be programmed to request in-app feedback or it may do nothing. On the other hand, if we select four or five rating stars, we are very likely going to write a positive review. The developer will have programmed the app to trigger the real rating dialog or it may redirect us to the app store app page.

 

five_secrets_1

Example of what does the official rating dialog look like


2. Developers Are Allowed to Remove All Existing Ratings

Sometimes we really want to leave a negative review to get the attention of the developer or other users, because we sincerely want the app to work better or be more helpful. A developer is allowed to remove all the existing ratings if they are not satisfied with the average rating stars, but they are not allowed to delete reviews. If we intend to leave a negative rating by just clicking on one or two stars, there is a chance our rating could be removed from the app page. So if we want to leave a negative comment that stays permanently on the app page where it is sure to be seen, it’s best to write a review.

five_secrets_3

 

3. Ads Presentation

To increase revenue, developers often add advertising within their apps. To increase the rate of ad clicks, which serves as motivation for the advertiser to continue buying ad space on the app, some developers will put a button of some kind very close to the ad, so cause us to accidentally click on the ad when our intent is to click on the button. Some apps will even prompt us to view full-screen ads when the apps are open. This can be against the Apple Store’s App Review guidelines, and we can report the apps if we wish to.

five_secrets_4

 

4. Your devices can be banned.

If we are tempted to abuse an app or do something that is against the app’s and developer’s policies, we may think that even if our app account gets banned as a result of our abuse, we can simply create another account and continue using the app. But we need to be aware that the developer has access to our device’s ID. So if the developer recognizes that our two accounts share the same device, they can ban both accounts.

5. Permissions Can Only Be Asked Once

Except for the Location Service, all other privacy permissions requested by the app are only allowed to be asked once. Examples: notification access, microphone access, camera access, etc. Regardless of whether we accept or deny privacy permission when we are prompted, we will have to change it in our phone’s Settings if we want to edit it.

five_secrets_5

Source

Tags: , ,

Search

Articles - Category